Designing a normal sedan

This tutorial is exceedingly simple and this is for those who are completely new to designing. This shows a person how to design a car as viewed from the side.

Alright guys, let’s get started.

 You will need:

1) Pencils:

a. I won’t make it hard for you, saying “HB” or “6B”, I will tell you that you need only two….one that has a light stroke and one with a dark stroke.

2) Paper:

a. Paper is pretty easy, since you can take an A4-sized copier paper.

3) Eraser:

a. My favourite is the knead able type, but any soft eraser will do.

4) Extensive confidence in yourself!

5) A place to draw.

 NOTE: Click to enlarge images.

Jumping into designs now:

Step 1:

     Right-o……the wheels are BASIC, basic measurements for your car…so getting them right is key to your design.

Step 2:

     The next thing are the basic body lines, that is, the line of the car and the line of the roof…I am taking a simple sedan, but as you get better at this, try more complex stuff.

Step 3:

     Join the lines to the wheels, and make sure that they are in one flow.

Step 4:

     Join the roof to the body…like above.

Step 5: 

     Now, divide the upper part into two. Sedans usually have the front door to be larger than the rear one and that’s how I made it.

Step 6:

     Now, take some detail into it and draw the “B-pillar”(middle divider) of the car. Draw the basic shape of the windows in it.

Step 7:

     Now, take some effort to draw the doors.

Step 8:

     Most people, while trying to draw cars, forget the wheel wells…see the shaded part above the wheel?(pic above) That’s a wheel well. Take your time to do that.

Step 9:

     Now draw the base of the bumpers, like below.

Step 10:

     Next, very important thing is this: notice that the rear part of the car is a bit raised than the front…this is standard in cars such as this.(above)

 

Step 11:

     Take your time to draw the lights, my friends, since that’s a place where most people, including me, fail. It takes loads of practice to get it right, like in the below snap.

Step 12:

     Add more details to the car…such as the door handles and stuff like the side-view mirror.(above)

Step 13:

     That’s it! (just kidding)

Step 14:

     Now, you need to draw the wheels.
Draw a smaller circle inside the tyre.

Step 15:

     Take your time, divide into the number of spokes you want, and draw two lines on either side of the lines…Voila! Your own wheel!

Step 16:

     Now remove any guidelines you have left, and any smudges you have on it. Darken the wheel wells, people.

Step 17:

     You are done! (Really!)


A note (very important): You will NOT get the hang of drawing these cars until you keep practicing. I will help you with this by uploading finished pics…see if you can break it down like I said and draw it. If you have any doubts, suggestions or plain want to talk, just contact me at niranjaraghu96@gmail.com.


This is just one basic tutorial. I will try to upload videos since I can speak to you directly then. Until then, happy practicing, people!

 

6 responses to “Designing a normal sedan

  1. Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is a really well written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely return.

  2. I don’t know if it’s just me or if everyone else encountering problems with your website. It appears as though some of the written text in your posts are running off the screen. Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them too? This might be a issue with my web browser because I’ve had this happen before. Thanks
    First of all I would like to say wonderful blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing. I have had difficulty clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out there. I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or tips? Thank you!

    • I’ve checked with some people, and they said that this WAS common, but that refreshing the page solved it. 🙂 Thank you, Thank you! Well, clearing my/your mind is not so easy, but I try to plan what I’m gonna write, and then, bit by bit, I write a post over the course of a week, and then, I compile it and publish my post in one day. I hope that this helps. 🙂

Howdy-do, share your thoughts on this post, will you?

